Desperately in search of a good cannoli…

My family lives on Long Island, so I get to enjoy delicious pizza, real bagels, and other tasty delights whenever we go and visit.  Unfortunately I developed an addiction the last time we were down there.  My brother, very sweetly, brought home some desserts from the Alpine Bakery in Smithtown, NY.  These desserts included some very innocuous looking cannoli.  I actually ignored those cannoli for a while, who needs a cannoli when you can eat amazingly soft and delicious rainbow cookies???

But I was silly and it was a mistake I will never make again because once I took a bite of that cannoli, my world changed.  I’m not really a dessert person but MAN, these cannoli were good.  They had chocolate chips in the cannoli filling and the filling was probably 50% crack, it was so good. It had a sharpness to it and some lemony flavor and it was just yummmm, there just wasn’t enough to satiate my sudden addiction.

Which brings me to today.  My husband thoughtfully brought some cannoli home from Villa Italia in Schenectady, NY.  Let me just say this, Villa Italia makes a damn good cake, but they got nothing on those cannoli I had on Long Island.

My search continues…

Tagged , , ,

10 thoughts on “Desperately in search of a good cannoli…

  1. llcwine says:

    Check out Bella Napoli in Latham on the corner of Rte 9 and 155.

  2. Sheep Farmer says:

    Try Mrs London’s in Saratoga for cannolis. No choco chips though.

    • jaycin333 says:

      I love Mrs. London’s – have never tried their cannolis though, next time I’m up there, I will definitely get one and post an update. I love their croissants…

  3. kbsc says:

    The best cannoli’s are at Civitello’s – Jay Street in Schenectady. While you are there, stop at Perecca’s across the street, best bread, great extra-sharp Provolone, the list goes on.

  4. Jorabi says:

    I have tried many cannoli (note: cannoli is plural; no need for an ‘s’) and my favorite comes from an unlikely source: Hannaford supermarkets! The shells and cream are outstanding. The cream has small chocolate pieces. Hannaford fills them in the bakery dept as needed and sells them fresh.

    After some research I found out that the supplier to Hannaford is Leonard Novelty Bakery of Moonachie, NJ. That is a commercial bakery owned by Leonard DiPiazza and family (phew! at least there’s an Italian involved!). But don’t try to buy direct … they won’t sell to the public. Believe me, I’ve tried.

    I can’t eat Bella Napoli’s cannoli because I can’t STAND when the cream has candied fruit in it! Vanilla Bean used to make a good one but they’re gone. Villa Italia has somehow lost their way with cannoli … they used to be yummy but no more.

  5. […] on the kind suggestions of the readers of this blog, we purchased cannoli from the […]

  6. Daniel B. says:

    The best I’ve had so far are from Andy’s on Delaware Ave.

Leave a Reply

