I’m a weenie…

When I’m not feeling well.  I just want to be coddled and taken care of.  Reality is, my toddler doesn’t care if I’m sick or not, she wants to read The Foot Book for the 18th time that hour and I’m the only one for the job!

I do have a process I follow when I’m sick:  two vitamin c tablets a day, as much sleep as I can get (which is really not much) and hot, steaming comfort tea.

The ingredients to my comfort tea are:

3 -4 thin slices of ginger root

1 heaping spoon of Buckwheat honey (has a VERY strong smell, like a barnyard as J says, but do not be deterred as it is very good for you, especially if you have a cough)

1 heaping spoon of regular honey (we buy the local honey at the Honest Weight Food Co – Op, which by the way we are completely in love with)

1/4 lemon slice

Hot water

A big mug

Just combine all the ingredients and increase/decrease the amounts to your liking.

Voila! I have a delicious, comforting, hot cup of tea that immediately soothes me and makes me feel like tomorrow I just might feel better.

Another thing that made me feel better today…news that the Olive Garden is coming to Clifton Park!  I read it on one of my favorite food blogs, Table Hopping on the Timesunion website.  Steve’s the food dude and he keeps my husband and I up to date on what’s going on around here.

About the Olive Garden, I love their salads, but feel so-so about the rest of their food. But my dear husband, is a bit of food snob and it’s like pulling teeth for him to even step into an Olive Garden with me. However, I will win that fight once Olive Garden makes it way up here.  He knows it, I know it, and now you know it.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “I’m a weenie…

  1. Jamespn to the rescue. says:

    Great stuff with the tea….better with some whiskey to open the nasal passages and calm the nerves.
    Cannoli need to be purchased at Villa Italia in Schenectady, Sovrana in Albany, Cardonas Market in Albany and or Sams Italian restaurant in Albany.
    Unfortunatly admitting you like Olive Garden could envoke the rath of the blogosphere. Look I like Mickey Ds double cheesburgers we all have our vices but to go to OG for salad? C’mon admit it you go for the fontina stuffed mozzarella balls wrapped in provalone and served with gorgonzola in a never ending pasta bowl.

  2. Jameson to the rescue. says:

    damn spelled my own blog handle wrong!

  3. Diana Chan says:

    I think I read The Foot Book to FF about 16 times while I was up this past weekend!

    You left out the delicious breadsticks at the Olive Garden!!! Geez Louise.

Leave a Reply

