The best Capital Region pizza so far…

We are planning to conduct a pizza death match but we did find a contender for the best pizza we’ve had up here so far. We got a pie from Caputo’s Pizzeria in Clifton Park.

J had been talking about this pizza for a couple weeks now, some of his co-workers were talking it up.  As foodies, we take all food seriously, but pizza has a particular soft spot for us, especially me since I’m from Long Island (land of awesome pizzas).  For the past 11 years that I have lived in the Capital Region, I have tried a lot of different pizzas and have been let down repeatedly.  My husband, having had the experience of both LI and NYC pizza also understands my despair at the desolate landscape of pizza in the Capital Region.

Forgive me for my little tangent, but what is up with the pizza up here? The crust is usually tasteless, too thick, or cardboard like.  The cheese has no flavor and there’s always way too much of it.  Then the sauce, or the lack of it, has no tang, no depth.  Uggh.  I mean, if I need pizza, J will usually make it himself (always delicious) or we make do with Inferno’s Pizza, which is probably one of the better Upstate type pizzas there are.

Deep breath.  Okay I’ve calmed down from my little diatribe about pizza.  On to Caputo’s.  The pizza was good, surprisingly good.  The cheese had that nice salty thing that a lot of LI/NYC pizzas have.  It needed more sauce, but the sauce that was on it was tasty.  I would prefer a little bit more tang to it.  The crust is really where Caputo’s shines.  It’s thin and crispy and tastes really good. I have to say I was impressed.  It will work for my pizza fix when I need it.  However Long Island/NYC pizza still reigns supreme. nothing beats a slice from Emilio’s in Commack or Little Vincent’s in Lake Ronkonkoma.    Then there’s the pizza at Lombardi’s in NYC, OMG.

We also ordered the garlic knots.  They need some work, they weren’t buttery enough and they needed more garlic.  But the dipping sauce was really good – it was a marinara but full of garlic slices, it’s delicious.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “The best Capital Region pizza so far…

  1. Millie says:

    The pizzeria in Starrett City in Brooklyn .. I think it’s exit 13 on the Belt Pkwy is by far my favorite. Same owners for the past 30 years and their sicilian is awesome.

  2. Ali H. says:

    Oh no. No. I mean, Caputo’s is fine, and they have a decent cannoli, actually, but you haven’t had pizza in your life until you come to Troy and get it from DeFazio’s. It’s this little hole in the wall, family owned and operated ancient altar to putting bread in an oven and then slathering stuff all over the top. I don’t even like pizza, and they converted me. What they do at DeFazio’s is art. It’s religion. Get the quatro formaggio – it has gorgonzola on it. Forget about it. You will never resurface from that haze of sheer bliss. Or get the Four Seasons, but ask for it white. Oh. My. God.

Leave a Reply

