My favorite breakfast

I eat oatmeal five days of the week and I’ve been doing so for the past 5 or 6 years.  It’s funny because I usually get tired of foods pretty quickly especially if I’m eating them everyday.  But not with oatmeal.  Mainly I eat it because it’s quick and as filling as I can get without eating a full eggs and toast breakfast.  Plus it’s my way of balancing my intake of french fries.  I figure the oatmeal kind of evens out the badness.

I recently discovered steel-cut oats.  I’ve dabbled in them before but never thought they were quick enough for me during my morning rush of trying to get the heck out of my front door to work.  But I had them at a work conference a couple of months ago and totally craved them, so my dear husband bought me some bulk steel cut from our favorite store, Honest Weight Food Co-op.

The easiest method that I found of cooking them is throwing them in the slow cooker and putting the setting on low.  Which is kind of a safe guard for me because I’m a total space cadet sometimes and forget about the oatmeal until the next morning. Which is actually fine, if on the low setting (I did it once on the high setting and I got some weird tasting oatmeal). I use a 1:3 ratio of oats to water and if I cook it for an hour or so, I get that nice steel-cut texture. If I space out and leave it on all night, it’s nice and mushy and still delicious.  Sometimes I add a little water because I need to heat it up in the microwave but overall I’m really happy with the steel-cut and will never go back to rolled oats.

To add some texture, I throw in a handful of sliced, spiced almonds and then a small teaspoon of local honey. YUM.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “My favorite breakfast

  1. Jorabi says:

    I’ve heard the term steel-cut before and wondered how they are different than regular Quaker oats. What are they like? If you make extra in the slow cooker, can you reheat the leftovers?

    • jaycin333 says:

      Hi – I just posted a picture of what the steel-cut oats look like. They are less refined than rolled oats, and have a rough texture, which is why they take longer to cook. I always make more than I need, so I just stick them in the fridge and they heat up wonderfully. Just add a little water if they get too clumpy.

Leave a Reply

